Ojców, Chapel on the Water

Ojców, Chapel on the Water

Chapel of St. Joseph the Craftsman, which is the official name of the Chapel on the Water created in 1901 from converted spa baths (at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries Ojców used to be a famous health and holiday resort). Although tsar Nicholas II issued an order forbidding the construction of  sacred buildings in the Ojców area, it was cleverly circumvented by placing the building “on water”. This is how tradition explains the unusual location of the chapel. The well-shaped building, constructed on a cross-shaped plan and boarded with bright planks, is supported by stilts rooted in the bed of a stream. The chapel’s roof is decorated with a lofty, openwork tower crowned with a cross. Particularly charming in the modest, bright interior of the chapel are the altars, whose shape resembles the roofs of mountain cottages.

Chapel on the Water, Ojców, phone: +48 600450334; admission during services (Fri 5pm, Sun 8am, 10.30am and 6pm) and ceremonies.

Other local attractions
King Łokietek Cave
, which you can reach by following the black trail from Ojców, and the nearby Dark Cave (both open to visitors)
Mace of Hercules
is the famous, uniquely shaped calcareous monadnock
with its historic spa architecture and the ruins of the medieval stronghold
Castle in Pieskowa Skała, a Renaissance castle palace residence from the 16th century, also known as “the Pearl of Polish Renaissance”

Play Play